Blank Pages Demand Filling

By ANDREW FLYNN, Managing Editor & Publisher

When I came into hosting and publishing a website last November that would provide its visitors with daily content, it was a moment in time where the ambition was to be a clear and concise voice amongst all the pap and horseshit that other sources of commentary dish out. I sit here at my laptop in the first hour of Leap Day and tip my hat to all of those involved, as we did a job superbly done.

The writers of The Daily Damn: THANK YOU. Each individual voice that took time out of their amazingly packed schedules to be courteous, be loud, be heard, and be eloquent…you did just this. Nothing makes an editor or a publisher more happy than when the correct words get verbalized from the right person, and then it all makes it to the eyes of the intended reader. It’s just orgasmic, quite seriously it is.

Writing allowed me to be a part of this collaborative effort, and it’s exactly that which now pulls me away from it. I’ve been hired for a writing job that is the most comprehensive and time-engrossing gig I’ve ever been offered. So I had to take it. Only a fool would decline a prestigious gig that even some writers try to get during their entire careers and lives, yet never attain. So that’s what I’m going to be doing for the immediate future.

Robert McKee stood in front of a classroom full of wannabe writers a few years ago in a lecture hall at Loyola Marymount University and jokingly scolded each of us for wanting to become a writer, as it is the hardest profession to do in all the history of man. I’m only 30 years old, so I can’t speak to the wisdom of that statement yet, but I do know this: writing can do for you exactly what you do for it. Should you put enough hours and sweat and angst and blood into it, results will follow shortly. Quite the opposite, if you sit in a dark apartment and toss your thinking tennis ball against a door for hours a day and get nothing on the blank page, you will ultimately have that: nothing. And higher blood pressure.

I’m not the smartest person who knows how to write. But I am a person who knows how to write. And I love writing more than I love a lot of things, and that even includes bacon. Writing does for me more than a thick strip of Applewood will ever do: it will allow me to use my brain correctly, it will allow me to sleep at night, it will eventually be a means to financial compensation, and it will allow every thought to be communicated as necessary.

Wordy as this all is, it has been one of the great joys of my life to administer The Daily Damn for you, my dear readers. I can only hope that the future projects to be worked on with great love and passion will also meet your eyes, and make you use your brain enough to generate thought, and perhaps even to make you smile.

And that’s my giving a final damn.

###

From my heart to your eyes:

»The Writers Who Don’t Write

»An Open Letter to God

»The Breeding of Irreverence

»Running Up the Odometer

Tagged

Leave a Reply

