Trucking 101: Introduction to Ghosttown

By GHOSTTOWN, Staff Writer

You’ve been around the block from your home, and you may have been 20 miles from your house to get to work. Ask yourself: has your job ever been your home wherever you’ve parked in America?

Hi, my name is Ghosttown. All one word. Get it right, and we’ll get along well. If not, feel free to go back to your fucking boring life and you won’t have to read someone else’s search and discovery of a blissful joyful life.

Funny name, I know, but I got the name from the 4×4 hobby of exploring the southwest back-trails over-the-air waves of the CB radio. The name is called a handle for those of you who have not seen Smokey and the Bandit, and the name Ghosttown has became much more a part of me and who I am then I have ever expected. I am a long-haul, over-the-road (OTR) semi-truck driver. My rig hauls whatever fits into a 53-foot trailer that I’ll take from the West Coast to the East, or lake-to-gulf…whatever your perspective of long distance is in America.

I love to travel and learn. My life has become a paid quest for walking one’s path to bliss.  Travel with me and you learn the road and open the door to your own path to bliss. I’ll drive the truck for now, just take a ride in your mind and I may be able to inspire you to be a better person than ever you thought possible.

Are you dead? Did life fuck you somehow and shit on you so hard that you don’t have the balls to change it?  Or, are you just content with being unhappy? Did you forget that “Life is a Banquet?” Or, are you happy starving yourself from what you have always wanted or wanted to be. Yes, I did at least. I was dying of obesity, shit on by the “great opportunities” of the financial world, and completely believed that this is the way it was and there was no way to change it. I was told that I had to go through this hell before I could get to the heaven of a successful life. “Great opportunities,” is what they told me in College, High School, and at home of my father, it is what I’ll have to do, because it is what others have done to become successful, what bullshit!

Driving over America in an 18-wheeler (and being paid to do it!) has created bliss in my life. I want to share with you my trucking travels and socializing with Americans so that you too may be inspired to find your own bliss whatever that may be. Now, this is all from me: from the perspective of an educated, cultured, Redneck-with-taste, no-bullshit man who now knows that true success comes directly from following your bliss. Read a little, it’s the same secret we all know, but mostly decided to forget.

I will not apologize for the way I communicate. You’re an adult now and maybe you always were…so a fuck, shit, or possum’s pecker remark will not bother what I hope is your mature mind. You know by now that it is immaturity that keeps us sane and our maturity that keeps us in society.  As Truckers, we are the masters of this mature and immature world.  A trucker has a unique skill of flipping between these two different sides of their personality in order to survive the next mile down the road. A trucker will save your life for your maturity, and will be forced to kill you for your immaturity. A Trucker can logically make it legal in a court of law to kill you on the road because of the awesome dichotomy of maturity and immaturity. Understand that immaturity of one’s actions, and the maturity of the action of other on the highway is what keeps truckers alive and paid every week.

Get it clear: I will not apologize for your fucking stupid mistakes, nor will I slow down for mature decisions. Truckers are bound by the same rules that were laid down by the Department of Motor Vehicles that we all learned when we where 16 when we got the legally insane card that is a drivers license. I said legally insane because any fucked up, fuck-headed, assholey, dickwadded, bitch-ass, or purely maniacal human being can pass the driver’s test for Class D license. It’s only until you drive a big-rig that you’ll fully understand the deadly game that truckers play for a living in. The deadly game which you/we have voluntarily decided to participate in with our passing test score at the fucking DMV.  I welcome you all to the open road and my travels.

Feel free to go back to your perfect little world of cubicles, and pushing money across the counter for Starbucks coffee, then get to a job that sells a product to someone else that has no bearing on who you are.  Just for now, take a moment don’t look at the face value yet and maybe you too can live. Not all that wander are lost, but all that wander can live.

And that’s my giving a damn.

###

Ghosttown is a professional trucker of many years, and has roots all over America. When you’re sleeping, he’s likely hauling 53 feet worth of something marvelous in his rig.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Trucking 101: Introduction to Ghosttown

  1. Eddie Gates says:

    Nice shout-out for the Wanderers Ghosttown! Well said.

Leave a Reply

